Speeding Tickets

Speeding tickets are treated just as seriously in Mississippi as they are in any other state. Mississippi reserves the right to suspend any driver's license who is found to have significantly violated traffic laws; drivers can have their licenses suspended for accumulating between seven and 12 traffic points. If you have accumulated between seven and 10 traffic points within one year, a judge or magistrate has to request that your license be suspended. If you accumulate 12 points within a one-year period, the state will suspend your license for 12 months. You can be assessed eight points for driving 26 mph in excess of the posted speed limit, enough to invalidate your driving privileges.