DUI Violations

The state of Mississippi is improving in terms of DUI arrests. In the last nine years, DUI arrests have dropped by 33 percent. However, Mississippi penalizes DUI offenders more strictly than other states. A first DUI offense carries penalties of $500 minimum, a one-year license suspension, and jail time for as long as 90 days. Subsequent offenses can cost as much as $5,000 in base fees and carry jail sentences that last one to two years. Any time you are convicted of a DUI or DWI in Mississippi, the court will order that your car have an ignition interlock device placed on it – if you are convicted of a DUI four or more times, your license is suspended for life, though you can appeal this every five years.