How To Reinstate a Suspended Mississippi License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Mississippi drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.

Driving with a suspended Mississippi drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Mississippi license. Select from the options below to get started.

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

Application assistance services can simplify the process for many DPS related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DPS in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DPS.

3: Via a DPS office

If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DPS office. Varying DPS offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DPS closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DPS allows you to make a personal appointment.




Your license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Some situations are clear, while others are subtle, with some drivers unaware that their license is suspended at all. In this guide, you'll find information on the steps necessary to reinstate your Mississippi driver's license, no matter what your violation was.

If you drive while your license is suspended or revoked, you may be charged with a misdemeanor. The maximum sentence for this crime may involve between two days and six months in jail, and a fine between $200 and $500.

Reinstating Your License

Getting your license reinstated in Mississippi requires completion of the following steps:

  1. Pay your fines in whichever county you were issued a traffic ticket in, and clear your record.
  2. Pay the license reinstatement fee required by the DPS. Call (601) 987-1224 or (601) 987-1231 to find out how much you owe. You can then pay the reinstatement fees in-person or online. Reinstatement fees you owe due to returned checks cannot be paid online. Usually, reinstatement fees are $25 for a common offense, $75 for a DUI or drug-related offense, and $10 for a suspension related to writing a bad check.
  3. Wait for the DPS to confirm that your record has been cleared. This could take several weeks. You can speed up this process by mailing a copy of your court abstract to:
  4. Mississippi Department of Public Safety

    Attn: Driver Records
    1900 East Woodrow Wilson
    Jackson, MS 39216

  5. After confirmation, the DPS will reinstate your license.

Once you have completed all of the above steps, the DPS will send you a letter of clearance for your license.